Karnival – An Albanian Mardi Gras

Here are some pictures from Karnival in Shkoder. I think it is the largest Mardi Gras in Albania because Shkoder has the largest Catholic population in the country. This year the event was four days long to celbrate Albania’s 100th year of independence.

I am not sure what the plan was Saturday but all the costumed groups gathered in front of the stage and took turns performing. It was incredibly hard to watch because everyone was so crowed. People also kept walking in between the performers to take pictures or vidoes or just watch so I had a hard time taking pictures. The American in me wouldn’t let me break ranks and wander through the crowd of performers but I probably should have. If everyone’s doing it, the it has to be ok, right?

Sunday there was a parade. Which meant all the performs lined up and led everyone else on a walk through the city that ended in a square on the other side of town. I think there was supposed to be performances again but the rain ruined the mood and not much happened.

More pictures can be found here.


Leave a comment